Manal and her hidden victory roll

m1

 

 

m2

 

 

m3

 

I pulled Manal’s hair up and I was inspired by both the classic 1940’s victory rolls and the interpretation of this updo recently worn by Scarlett Johansson. I first sprayed the hair with a salt-water type of spray so that it has some grip. I let it air-dry and form its natural wave. I then rolled the hair tightly to minimize the volume. I made sure that the roll is not visible from the front and there you have it. I’ve written countless times about how I prefer to draw inspiration from vintage hairstyles but alter them a lot so the person doesn’t look like they came out of a time-machine. Marina Stat did the make-up.

 

1940s_roll

1940s_updo

two images of the 1940’s victory rolls (couldn’t find photo credits for the pictures).

 

Scarlett

Scarlett Johansson at the “We bought a zoo” premiere, December 2012 (couldn’t find photo credit for the pictures).

Leave a Reply

