Antonia or the first post about Christmas 2012 hair

a1

When Kate Moss went to this Halloween party a bit more than a month ago, I was introduced to a new term: glam goth. Hairstylist Sam McKnight did her wig (which he called glam goth) and most of her make-up too, inspired by Morticia Addams (the well-known character of the Addams family). I was instantly hooked, it was really glamorous and really fresh at the same time. I liked it so much and kept thinking that I should do a more wearable version of it. Halloween is one thing and Christmas is another and there had to be a way to do this for Christmas without scaring the children. I knew Antonia was the one for this because, in all fairness, a girl with blue or green eyes can pull this off more easily. As far as hair go, I didn’t want to do waves, as it’s the most unimaginative hairstyle one could suggest for the Christmas dinner, party or whatever. I went for a straighter look with curled ends. Lose the curling tong, bring out the rollers. Mind you, this hairstyle will look much better if your hair is layered (as is the case with Antonia- I’m responsible for her layered haircut). Marina Stat did the make-up once more.

kate1

Kate Moss with the legendary¬†Sam McKnight in the picture above and arriving at the party with husband Jamie Hince in the picture below (couldn’t find photo credit for both pictures).

a2

a3

For the second look, I had a Lykke Li kind of girl going goth in my mind. I wanted it to be dark but girly and playful at the same time. Since the middle parting is the star of this hairstyle, I also wanted the two buns to look like a bun that was cut in two. This is the first post about Christmas 2012 hair.

Leave a Reply

