Athena A.

Athena is a dancer of the Greek National Opera and as far as I’m concerned, is the alpha-female on Anafi, where she co-owns a restaurant with her husband. Every night she would sing greek rembetika songs accompanied by her musicians, keeping us all under her spell. I came across the new Dolce & Gabbana a/w 2012 campaign (feauturing Monica Bellucci) and was mesmerized by the power that the Italian women were projecting in the image but also really inspired by their hair. So, I decided that I had to shoot Athena and this campaign was my inspiration. I didn’t do a bun at the back because the intricate ponytail looks much more seductive and the woman I wanted to capture is a master of seduction. A mediterranean force of nature.

the Dolce & Gabbana a/w 2012 campaign, beautifully shot by Giampaolo Sgura.

 

Leave a Reply

