Flowered up No.1 : Ioanna B.

I cut Ioanna’s hair and when Marina Stat (the make-up to my hair) saw her, she was so inspired by her exotic-looking features that she convinced me to go for something exotic right away. The first thing that comes to my mind when I think of the word exotic is Hawaiian girls with huge flowers in their hair and that’s what our main inspiration was. I posted about dried flowers last year but that seems too minimal compared to what triggers my imagination this summer. I decided to do three “flowered-up” hairstyles using Ioanna and her two sisters as my muses. I first clipped a lot of rows of frizzy/natural curly extensions into Ioanna’s hair to give it the it-became-huge-from-the-humidity-and-I-can’t-tame-it effect. I then decided that the first application was going to be the crown of flowers, recently seen everywhere on Lana Del Rey’s head. I just wanted a bigger variety of types and colours of flowers. Think more is more. I integrated some real flowers with the fake ones and if you go for this look, make sure you do the same, as it takes away the cheap/plastic effect. You don’t have to spend a fortune on real flowers though. Three to four are definitely ok. Marina Stat did an amazing make-up job, making Ioanna look like she actually comes from Hawaii. Two more flowered-up looks coming up…

Lana Del Rey and her crown of flowers (couldn’t find photo credit for these pictures).

Leave a Reply

