Demetra and the long rounded fringe

 

 

 

If you want really long hair, the best way to get there is to 1.avoid the hair-dye shelves and 2.not use heated styling tools more than once or twice a month. This is how Demetra grew her hair this long. The first thing she told me before  I cut her hair was that she put a lot of effort in growing it. And I fully respected that. I trimmed the length a tiny bit, gave her long layers and finished with an eyebrow-covering, rounded and layered fringe. I then styled the hair using a curling tong and pulling everything apart afterwards. I think I’m falling in love with the long rounded fringe again (blunt or wispy, I love it the same). Some very famous women who have had it are:

 

Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ frontwoman, Karen O, photographed in 2009 by Sorrell Schneider

Actress Keira Knightley, photographed at a premiere in February of 2009 (couldn’t find photo credit for this picture).

Kate Moss, photographed for Vogue Paris (February 2008) by Mario Testino

Bjork photographed by Inez Van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin for her 2001 Vespertine album cover and promotional pictures.

supermodel Christy Turlington photographed for the Louis Vuitton f/w 2000 campaign by Inez Van Lamsweerde and Vinoodh Matadin.

Fleetwood Mac’s Stevie Nicks in the seventies (couldn’t find photo credit for these pictures).


9 comments
  1. Wow, I love, love, love this look!

    It took me over a year to grow my fringe out properly and I’ve been ‘fringeless’ for the best part of 2 years but have to say, I *sorely* miss it. Like your model, I’ve grown my hair really long ( by my standards) and sadly, stress has caused some shedding, but I really want a fringe back. I feel damned if I do, damned if I don’t in truth : ) I love how strong and striking that look is. I’d probably wear the fringe a bit softer but it’s good to see the proportions of length & fringe on a great face!

    So tempted.. x

    • A long rounded fringe with lots of point-cutting at the ends to take weight off means that you’ll be able to sweep it to the side in about a month max, definitely not more than that. So, why all the hesitation? You seem to want it so bad.

  2. The hesitation is because hair dressers keep telling me my face looks better without one because my forehead proportionally is quite high! It doesn’t instill a load of confidence in you : )

    But I’ve had a lot of stress in the last 6months which has added lines on my forehead and I’d like to stop staring at them a while. And I’ve missed my fringe lately, so come Monday it’s coming back. And I can’t wait. I always get them to chip into it when they cut it as my face isn’t soft enough side profile wise to suit it thick & heavy. I’m going to need advice from them on the length of my hair vs fringe proportions. It’s been absolutely lovely having such long hair but it needs a strong trim as the ends are now quite dry.

    Thanks for the advice.. x x

    • Lol, I did it!
      I cut my fringe back in ; )
      In fact my new gravatar shot was taken on the day I did it : ) x

      • The picture is kind of blurry but from what I am able to see, I think you did good. I would do it kind of heavier, you need to cut a bit more hair.

      • Thank you, I might well do next time : ) It was heavier to start with and poker straight, it looked really striking, then he chipped into it. I think when I’m earning again and can afford the maintenance I’d like to wear it thicker actually. See how it feels, as I’ve never done that before. x

  3. Ruth said:

    I have had a fringe cut, I cut it, let it grow a bit, tried to blend it but cannot get the look right. What can I do? Can you cut my hair?

    • alexscissors said:

      I guess you live in the US, so I’m afraid I can’t make it there,lol. I suggest you print out the pics and drop by the salon with the best reputation in your area. Good luck girl.

      • Ruth said:

        Thank you so much for getting back to me..
        I live in UK actually 🙂

Leave a Reply

